We Love This Shop Class: Arkansas Students Learn to Build Dog Wheelchairs

When I was in junior high school, my great crafts project was building a napkin holder in wood shop. It was made of two swan-shaped pieces of wood screwed to a square base, and the napkins were supposed to nestle comfortably in the S shape of the top pieces. I only barely finished doing the napkin holder by the end of the semester, and when I did, it looked more like some cubist nightmare than the polished, elegant piece of craftwork displayed on the teacher’s shelf.

The fact that I almost flunked wood shop says volumes about the rest of my academic career, from first grade to junior college.

 

READ MORE HERE

Leave a Reply

